Still going

So this blog has been dead for a bit. I’ve been busy. So what happened?

Rosie ended up being returned by the family that adopted her. They took her in on Friday and I picked her up on Monday. They basically rented her for the weekend. The head smacker was that she did everything I said she would. I told them she wasn’t really crate trained, she tore up the bedding in the crate the put her in. I told them she didn’t really know how to walk on a leash, I compared it to walking Taz, Dad tried walking her and said she was all over the place. On and on. Truth is: I was delighted to pick her up. We took her to another adoption event and brought her home along with another German Shepherd Lola. We ended up adopting both! So now I have 3 German Shepherds in the house.

WP_20130806_016

Unfortunately over the summer one of our Boxers died, his name was Hawk. He had a heart attack and died. Carrying his body to the car to take him to the vet broke my heart. We loved him a lot and he is missed everyday. Hawk was a great dog, always happy and eager to be with us.

WP_20140802_011

We have started fostering again. However: no more foster failures. We won’t be adopting any more dogs. One of the groups we foster for is called Love On Wheels. They take dogs from Shelters around North Texas and send them to New York where they get adopted. It’s actually amazing how fast the dogs get adopted. So far we have sent 3 dogs to New York and all of them were adopted within a week of arrival. In two cases they were adopted the day after arrival! Two of the families have stayed in touch with us through FaceBook. It’s cool seeing our fosters in their new lives.

WP_20141110_003

Currently we are on our 4th foster. He name is Shiloh. I have no idea what breed she is but I think there is some Border Collie in her. She’s a sweet tiny girl but she’s able to hold her own again my miscreant German Shepherds. Her favorite thing to do though is snuggle people.

WP_20141201_002 1

We’ve also agreed to take in another German Shepherd from DFW German Shepherd Rescue. I don’t know which dog we’ll get and I’m sure we’re in for a lot of fun. Like most things I get involved in: I have no idea what I was thinking when I decided to do this.

Leave a Reply

