Just out of the kennel

Last year I decided that I wanted to get a German Shepherd but because of work and other things going on I wasn’t sure if we were ready. So we, my family and I, had the brilliant idea to start fostering dogs for the Humane Society. The thinking was that we could put off adopting a dog until we had a better idea of what was going on.

During the course of the year we fostered 5 dogs. The first was a Dutch Shepherd mix who was adopted by a friend of mine. The next was a Labrador who we very nearly adopted ourselves, but another family wanted her so we sent her to them. Next came a pair of Chewenie puppies who were adopted by my daughter’s soccer coach and his mother in law. Our last foster was another Chewenie from the same litter. She had been returned twice for the usual reasons. We searched around for her but she was adopted during an adoption weekend. We brought her to the Pet Smart where the events are held but she didn’t even make it in her kennel. Just as we were putting her in another family asked if they could meet her.

As is normal with planning, fate had other ideas. What I wanted was a black and tan male German Shepherd between six months and a year old. While we were fostering I had also put in applications to adopt at the various German Shepherd rescues local to us. Sure enough Kaiser came up at the DFW German Shepherd Rescue. He was a 7 month old black and tan. He’s high energy with a great personality. He’s been very puppy like since I’ve had him. We also have two boxers, one male and one female. They all get along very well.

With the New Year we have decided to start fostering again. Currently we are keeping Rosie who we are very likely to adopt. She is a very sweet dog. Probably the smallest German Shepherd I’ve seen, she weighs in at 45lbs! She is very affectionate and has already made friends with everybody in the house. We’ve only had her here for two days so we’re still getting to know her. Also, if we do adopt her we will continue to foster but will not ‘foster failure’ again.

The reason I’ve started this blog is share what I’ve learned through our experience both as fosters and owners. I’ve been learning a lot about dog training and have made a lot of observations about it. Also as an owner interacting with other owners and their dogs I have more comments to make. Finally, as a foster and a person involved with rescues I have one or two thoughts to share.

I hope you subscribe and follow along, maybe even ask a question or make a comment.

Leave a Reply

